I swear we were infinite

I read Perks of Being a Wallflower when I was in high school. I know that at this point, some 5 years later, the book has turned into a movie so it is more documented and mainstream and known. But even then, I buried my head in the book and finished it in a weekend, emerging feeling totally changed.

Years later, this is the line that sticks in my head the most.

In that moment, I swear we were infinite. 

What an abstract feeling. What does it mean to feel infinite? What is the author even describing? I feel infinite when I’m blasting music in my car alone with my windows down. And when I go to a heavy rock show and am able to let go of my fear of judgement and move to the music. And when I’m cheering on my favorite soccer team.

It is in those moments that I let go of all fear, and stress, and wonder, and exist in just that moment in time. And it’s that pure existence that feels infinite.

Leave a Reply

