On a scale of one to ten, how do you see yourself?

I watched The Way, Way Back last night while cramming in drawings for THE LAST FINALS OF MY ACADEMIC CAREER. Anyways, I was completely struck by the opening dialogue, and thought I would share (a paraphrased version of) it

Liam James as Duncan

Let me ask you something, on a scale of one to ten what do you think you are?
I’m asking you how you see yourself. Scale of one to ten?
I don’t know.
I can’t hear you, you have to speak up
I don’t know
What don’t you know? How you see yourself? You don’t have any opinion?
I’m just askin. Pick ANY number, scale of one to ten, just shout it out, say any number.
a six.
A what?
a six.
I think you’re a three. you know why I thing you’re a three. You know what would make me say that?
no
You don’t know, you have no idea
no
You gotta speak up
NO!
From what your mom tells me, you seem content to just hang around. Is that a fair assessment you’re just happy to not do anything? Cuz damn. that. to me, that is a three. But the good news, i’m here to tell you is there are going to be plenty of opportunities for you to take advantage of. So what do you say, lets try to get that score up huh?

aim higher than a three.

 

So. How do you see yourself? Aim high.

-A

Leave a Reply

