Thoughts on Change

3059_178238550299_1120810_n

I have an issue with Change. Or, I have an issue with everyone else having an issue with change

There have been so many times in my life when the words “You’ve changed” have been uttered in a completely negative connotation. At what point did that become a bad thing? When did change become the villain? When did “you rock, never change” being written in yearbooks become an encouraging phrase.

Its as if when you enter into any relationship, romantic or otherwise, you make an unwritten agreement never to change. To pause your personal progress so you can remain as close to one another as always throughout time. And then when one person changes they are essentially ripping up said agreement rubbing it into the dirt. Because, somehow, experiencing new things and being influenced by them is a negative thing?

I’m changing at such a rate that my relationship with MYSELF is on the rocks. Every day my wants and needs and passions and dreams change and progress. I am constantly questioning what I need to be doing to feel fulfilled, where I am going to be in the next two months, who is a positive presence in my life.

So, yeah, you’re right. I’ve changed. But no way in hell am I going to apologize for it or feel bad about it. And I hope you change too.

One thought on “Thoughts on Change

Leave a Reply

